06 May 2009

India Votes for Loksabha: Phase-IV 2009

The fourth phase of elections is on 7 May 2009. There are 86 constituencies spread across eight state going into the polls. They are Bihar (3), Haryana (10), Jammu & Kashmir (1), Punjab (4), Rajasthan (25), Uttar Pradesh (18), West Bengal (17) and the New Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi (8).

In two assembly segments of Nalanda and two of Pataliputra (both in Bihar) the timing for voting is till 3.00 pm only. The battle royal is in NCT Delhi. The patience seems to be running out. People now are eager for these last to phases to get over and the counting to start on 16 May. The indication is that neither the Congress nor the BJP are likely to emerge as strong contenders independently.

No comments:

Post a Comment