11 May 2009

India Votes for Loksabha: Phase-V 2009

The last and final phase of elections will end on 13 May 2009. This will take place in 86 constituencies spread across nine states. They are Chandigarh (1), Haryana (4), Puducherry (1), Tamil Nadu (39), Uttarakhand (5), Punjab (9), West Bengal (11), Jammu & Kashmir (2), and Uttar Pradesh (14). As the campaigning ends one feels that the desperation and fractions in the Indian National Congress (INC) and its coalition of the United Progressive Alliance is more visible whereas the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its coalition of the National Democratic Alliance seems to be comfortable, though they may not get to the magic figure. Nevertheless, one intuitively feels that there are a number of surprises that one would expect. Post-poll arithmetic would be an interesting exercise.

No comments:

Post a Comment